Do i Need pastiness for 1200 concrete lintel?

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by imcalledal, Oct 7, 2015.

1. imcalledal

imcalledal Member

Im installing a new concrete lintel for a new opening in a 9inch wall.
    Its 1200x100x215 20cm into each end of the walls. Walls made of old red brick one end and on celcons the other side (from previous house change) Is that fine to bed lintel on or do i need padstone? can't see them adding anything structurally to this setup myself?

2. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

Yes.

They help to spread the weight/ load.

Add more when I'm home in a hour.

FatHands likes this.
  3. Mr. Handyandy

Mr. Handyandy Screwfix Select

I'm not a expert, but I would say it's only 1200mm, so debatable.

Mr. HandyAndy - Really

4. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

They serve a purpose of distubute the loading over a wider area,even more important where you have a old wall made from bricks of unkown strength, there could be the risk of the bricks crushing under the load, the padstones prevents this.

I've done jobs where I have remove four to six courses of bricks where padstones will sit & rebuilt with engineering bricks, to ensure a structrally sound wall for the padstones to sit on.

You will definitely need a padstone on the celcon block end & I would remove a couple of the celcons & rebuilding with engineering bricks where padstone will fit.

Last edited: Oct 7, 2015
  5. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

See this image, it a rsj use, but it's the same method when usingh a concrete lintel.
    They have remove the celcon blocks & rebuilt with engineering due their strength & help to distruute the loading better.

[​IMG]

vivaro man likes this.
  6. Mr. Handyandy

It's only 1200mm wide though, KIAB. Surely, the bricks above that will be almost self-supporting?

Mr. HandyAndy - Really

7. Mr. Handyandy

Oh, and in your picture, there's no padstone, is there?

Mr. HandyAndy - Really

KIAB likes this.
  8. KIAB

KIAB Super Member