Dodgy Hep2o fittings!

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Ricicle, Mar 23, 2007.

1. Ricicle

Ricicle New Member

Had a nightmare recently, when a 22mm elbow came apart,(pipe blew out of fitting), at 4am in a customers house.!
    They didnt notice till about 7am, by which time the whole ground floor was under a couple of inches of water.

I've been using hep, with their own plastic pipe, for several years now, and never had a problem. The above occured about a month after it was originally installed, and I sent the dodgy fitting back to Hepworth, for them to test.

Havn't heard anything from Hepworth, (2 weeks now!), and the customer is wanting to claim on my PLI, for new carpets, skirtings, doors, hotel bills etc....

Have any of you guys ever had a Hep fitting fail on you, if so, what response did you get??

R.

2. boskoman1

boskoman1 New Member

I have never come across a fitting like this fail.

If it has been installed correctly then it should not fail.

I have had an insert that was plastic moulded at one end - so acting like a plug. i had to pull out a whole kitchen

Hep20 will never claim it is a fault of theres. you should have had independant inspection before sending it off.

good luck

3. Captain Leaky

Captain Leaky New Member

Sorry to hear you are living out a plumbers nightmare.
    Hep problems I have come across:

cutting with a hacksaw or other unsuitable tool, missing pipe insert, hep pipe is easily kinked or cut, re-using fittings is not good, broken steel teeth ring, pipe not pushed fully home.

The main reason I have found for Hep joints failing is them being reused and the cap nut threads getting damaged. I have never had one go as you described butI do prefer Speedfit although that can have problems too.
    The only joints I have seen fail catastrophically were soldered joints which came apart ( Not mine of course!) - usually where someone has applied a twisting action somewhere along the pipe and strained the joint.