door spy hole

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by A_little_help_please, Oct 15, 2003.

1. Hi

we have a UPVC front door and i want to know whether i can drill into the door to fit a spy hole so i can see who is at the door. would it be possible, what drill would i use and would i have to seal round the spy hole?

Any help would be great

Sarah

Attached Files:

• 1.png
      File size:
      4.8 KB
      Views:
  2. RoB

RoB Guest

Hi Sarah
    I'm no expert but I did recently have to drill a couple of screw holes through a uPVC door myself (my own one, I hasten to add!).
    These doors seem to be constructed from some sort of high-density foam, with a thin plastic coating round the outside - not as high-tech as I was expecting!
    A standard HSS drill bit should work fine (that's what I used). No sealant or anything necessary (provided you don't drill the hole too large, of course!).
    RoB

3. Hi Rob

I am kinda ducking out of the idea now, who would i call to do it for me? i am a little clueless about these things!

Sarah xx

4. boris the blade

boris the blade New Member

i'll do it for u if yr in my locality! :)

5. Where do you live?! And how much would you charge?! :)

6. gadget man

gadget man Screwfix Select

Could'nt be simpler....normally you just need a 12mm drill bit, and simply screw the 2 halves together!!

7. st

st New Member

dont make the mistake i made.

you have to walk up 3 steps to get from the pavement to my house.
    I fitted the spy hole whilst working inside the house.

Unfortunately i dont get that many 7ft tall visitors and at night i cant see anything.

I refuse to move it as that will be admitting defeat.

8. Charlie Far!ey

Charlie Far!ey New Member

Put in a wireles cctv then. It can be connected to your tv and when they ding the bell your visitors get a part in Eastenders. You need to have a PIR light installed in conjunction so you can see who it is.