Finding water supply pipe

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Honest Guvnor, Mar 10, 2017.

1. Honest Guvnor

Honest Guvnor New Member

Newbie here. I have dug a hole down to 10cm above the footings where I expected to find a leaking water supply pipe but without success. More digging tomorrow but I thought I might ask here for some guidance from the more experienced. Perhaps the pipe is wandering off in an unexpected direction (digging where the pipe enters the house may help answer that). It is a 1950s house and I am wondering if the pipe might drop down from where it enters the house onto the footings or even into a groove in the footings designed to protect the pipe. Is this likely?

2. sospan

sospan Screwfix Select

Around the time of your house, the depth of water pipes and drains depended on who was looking at the time, if the clerk of works was elsewhere they went in shallow. If he was around - they could be 18 inches or more.

Unlikely that the pipe would run along the length inside the founds.

Could try your hand at dowsing ? Just need an old coat hanger and some pipe

CGN likes this.
  3. WillyEckerslike

WillyEckerslike Screwfix Select

I know there are many sceptics out there but I have had much success finding water and drainage pipes using this method - it definitely works for some people.

4. CGN

CGN Screwfix Select

Was going so suggest dowsing...but you beat me to it! :D

I use a bit of the Earth wire from twin and earth...works a treat...sometimes!!! :D

Ps. also works to find incoming mains electric supply!

5. sospan

sospan Screwfix Select

Sometimes the quickest way to find a water pipe is to put a garden fork into the ground - twice it has happened, digging to find a pipe, put the digging fork into the ground to pick up a shovel - and there she blows! :oops::oops:. Still mains water pressure coming out of the ground is an easy way to clear the soil.