foundation on rocky terrain

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by Horsmonden, Nov 25, 2016.

1. Horsmonden

Horsmonden New Member

Hi,
    (I'm completely new to building, so my apologies for very basic questions).
    I want to build a garage at the end of our garden. The site has been cleared and dug until the digger hit rock (the site is already low in the ground).
    I want to build block walls to make a concrete flat roof garage . But I don't know if I can build the foundations straight over the rock bed or if I need to brake the rock further deep to make a trench.

(Wall 2.5m tall, 9m x 6m to be build with grey brick 20mm wide).

Any help much appreciated.

2. Dr Bodgit

Dr Bodgit Super Member

Building Control would give a pukka answer, but rock ain't gonna move so I would say put the foundation straight on it.

3. Horsmonden

Horsmonden New Member

Thank you David. Pukka answer means a hard time?

4. Dr Bodgit

Dr Bodgit Super Member

I don't know to what extent Building Control would need to be involved given this is a garage, have you looked into this?

How deep is the rock below ground level and what depth would you be otherwise digging down to?

5. koolpc

koolpc Super Member

Again, as mentioned in other threads by myself, 'DYNAMITE'. See if Screwfix will stock it for you. If you find any Gold i want 30% :cool::p

6. Phil the Paver

Phil the Paver Screwfix Select

Rather than actual foundations, how about laying a raft over the rocks.

7. koolpc

koolpc Super Member

Good thing about a raft is that if the area floods at least it will float! o_O

Joe95 likes this.
  8. Horsmonden

Horsmonden New Member

It is an agricultural building in agricultural land.
    As per what depth... There is no simple answer.
    The build is next to a bank. The terrain is flat but one end ends in a steep bank. One of the walls will be next to the bank and the roof will levelled with the ground. plan.jpg