Handleless Door Fitting Question

Discussion in 'Kitchen Fitters' Talk' started by John Carr, Jul 4, 2017.

1. John Carr

John Carr New Member

Hi All,

I'm fitting a WIckes kitchen at the moment and have got bit of a puzzler. The new integral fridge and freezer have matching hinges where you screw through from the reverse side into the door. My problem is that my doors have a 'gutter' handle so the top 25 - 30mm is about 6mm thick. The hinge fixings locate behind the gutter section.

Driving a screw through this isn't possible so I'm hoping that there's an alternative solution. I'm an electrician so technically competent, but struggling with this one.

Cheers,

John.

2. kitfit1

kitfit1 Screwfix Select

I take it the fridge and freezer are being fitted into a tall 600 appliance housing ? If they are you will have to move the hinge plates on the housing to line up with the hinge holes on your doors.

3. John Carr

John Carr New Member

Hi, no they're free standing separate units standing side by side. The door fits on to the existing fridge / freezer hinges

4. kitfit1

kitfit1 Screwfix Select

What make and model number are the fridge and freezer John ? I'll have a look at them and get back to you.

5. John Carr

John Carr New Member

That's great thank you it's a Beko BZ21. Fridge and freezer are almost identical externally

6. kitfit1

kitfit1 Screwfix Select

Ahhhhhhhhh, somehow i thought it might be a Beko. They have THE worst door mounting system of any integrated fridges and freezers. I'm afraid you simply will not be able to mount a J profile handled door onto either of them. Even a normal door is a pain to mount because there is no adjustment available. If they are new, send them back and and change them for another set of another make. Even the likes of Hotpoint do a mounting system for doors that beats that lol.

7. John Carr

John Carr New Member