Help changing a simple single light switch, for some reason it has 6 wires.

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Paul Burrell, Apr 26, 2024.

1. Paul Burrell

Paul Burrell New Member

Hi, just wondering if anyone can help.

I was hoping to do a quick light switch swap and being a complete novice I could still manage the 3 wires usually needed. But when I have removed the face place of this one in my new home it has 6 wires which totally baffled me.

I have attached pictures of the current switch i have and the one i am trying to replace it with, i have already tried placing the 3 wires into the Live the 2 into the neutral, and the single wire into L1 but when i turned the lights back on the all started flashing so I quickly put it all back.

Any help would be hugely appreciated!

2. Wellwisher

Wellwisher Well-Known Member

If the bottom photo is your old switch it looks like a 2 way switch (one of 2 switches that would control a light). The new switch in the top picture looks like a 3 gang electronic switch (3 switches on one plate to control 3 different lights). Clearly not the same thing at all and one cannot replace the other.

Ind spark likes this.
  3. Paul Burrell

Paul Burrell New Member

This is the one i bought to swap it with, if i'v made a mistake ill just stick with the original one i presumed it would be a pretty straight forward quick swap or hoping anyway..

upload_2024-4-26_15-54-8.png

Attached Files:

4. Ind spark

Ind spark Screwfix Select

You could do it if you're ok with the 2nd switch not working

5. Paul Burrell

Paul Burrell New Member

How would I do that if I decided to go ahead with it? I was hoping to replace them all with the same switch but I guess it's not as easy as I thought.

6. Paul Burrell

Paul Burrell New Member

【Supports 2 way control】 can be flexibly set through the app, and does not require special wiring like traditional switches.