House Rewire Via Building Control Route

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Kman2014, Oct 30, 2014.

1. Kman2014

Kman2014 New Member

Hi All.

My First post here! I'm currently purchasing a 1930's 3 bed house in London. The electrics are completely shot and I require a full new rewire. I'm not an electrician, but have done a lot of work before and have read up a fair bit on the regs.
    After spending a vast amount of hours researching on building control websites and planning portal, I still can't find an answer....

The rewire WOULD NOT be replacing the current cables, sockets, routes etc, but more a NEW install, as in new chased boxes, cable routes etc and loads of new circuits. If it were a simple rewire as in a like for like, then from what I have worked out, I would inform building control, get site visits, and a sparky which they would arrange would test and do a periodic report blah blah

But in my case, this would be a new design. What would the process be?

...or is someone going to say just get an Electrician in :)

Thanks a head for the replies

Kenny

2. chippie244

chippie244 Super Member

3. Jitender

Jitender Screwfix Select

It can be done as a diyer route, the word they use is 'competent'. You will need to inform the council, as long as the electrics get tested by someone on one of the schemes.

4. flateric

flateric Well-Known Member

Expensive :)

5. joinerjohn1

joinerjohn1 Screwfix Select

Agree with Eric, DIY is a possibility, but the council will charge a fortune to test the installation and issue certificates and I don't think many private electricians would be interested in testing and issuing certs for work they have not done. Would be safer in the long run to get a sparky in who's already registered with one of the certification schemes.

6. MGW

MGW Screwfix Select