I NEED HELP GUYS!

Discussion in 'Other Trades Talk' started by plumber&tiler, Sep 23, 2008.

1. plumber&tiler

plumber&tiler New Member

I'm a plumber & tiler in the Northamptonshire area. Loads of experience and a good reputation. But there just aint NO work about. Can anybody help me with some work or point me in the right direction? Theres some bunce in it for anybody who helps!
    Cheers Guys

2. sammy toaster

sammy toaster New Member

why not tile your own bathroom and plumb in that new suite until something turns up? it might be the soles of your boots.

3. pixieface

pixieface New Member

Hello, if you're having problems finding work have you considered signing up online with a job site like Rated People? They'll be able to find you work in your area and they cover all sorts of different trades. My uncle who's a painter and decorator signed up and gets loads of leads a week. The website you need is www.ratedpeople.com.

Hope this helps!

4. Burlington Bertie

Burlington Bertie New Member

Yeah, right. Nothing like a good old plug eh??

5. 4KCONSTRUCTION

4KCONSTRUCTION New Member

Here's a tip that works like gold and it's absolutely free apart from the price of a postage stamp.

Get your local yellow pages and write a polite and professional letter to every trade or builder that relies on your trade to get a job completed.

Explain your situation and list all of the benefits of why they could do with your time and help.

Why Do I Say This?

You would be amazed by the amount of builders who are crying out for other trades people to help out at short notice and end up using an agency or other because they have no one available.

This has been the case for my company and if I had a number of let's say a local tiler when I was let down by somebody else or one of my men wasn't available to do the job, I would have called that local tiler in a flash.

If anything, they will keep your name on file for when they need somebody.