lighting circuit with no earth

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by kelvin mottram, Jul 3, 2015.

1. kelvin mottram

kelvin mottram New Member

I am in the process of buying a bungalow built in the 60s without any earthing to the lighting circuit. I intend to add an earth ( I have some electrical experience ) do I need to take the earth all the way back to the consumer box or am i able to "tap" into any existing earth, ie: ring main for instance?
    Also what size earth cable would i need to run? Your advice is much appreciated, Kelvin

2. Lectrician

Lectrician Screwfix Select

You would be best rewiring. It's a bungalow, so not a big job. The walls drops are likely in conduit (certainly most that age are). It's a days work for a sparky, perhaps a weekends work for a DIYer.

3. nigel willson

nigel willson Screwfix Select

As lectrician says deffo partial rewire. You need a 4 mm earth , by the time you've faffed about with that!!

4. kelvin mottram

kelvin mottram New Member

Thanks for the advice, I'm sure your both right and I guess I'll end up doing just that but i'm at that time in my life ( just in my 60s ) when a lot of tasks are now above me physically ( I had polio as a child and less able than most ) and internal electrical work is one of the few things i can still do within reason. Its just a nice feeling to know you have done something yourself, satisfying I guess. Her indoors no longer likes me on steps let alone a ladder, so she'll be pleased with your responses.
    Out of interest why is it 4mm when new wiring would presumably be 1.0 or 1.5mm,
    regards
    K

5. Coloumb

Coloumb Screwfix Select

Yea I would like to know too.

6. nigel willson

Unprotected conductor, wouldn't think ur going to run it in conduit! 2.5mm if protected 4mm if not

7. Coloumb

Coloumb Screwfix Select

Why so? The only time I can think this would apply is for bonding where the bonding cable is underground. Got a reg some where?

8. seneca