Looking for opinions

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by Perry Kneum, Dec 7, 2014.

1. Perry Kneum

Perry Kneum New Member

Hi all, Newbie here.

Couple of pics from a site I've been doing a bit of sub-contracting on (not related the carpentry). I'd be interested in peoples thoughts.

Pic 1.

2014-12-03 15.53.50.jpg

New extension on house, at the back existing slate roof, to the right existing flat roof and on the left new pitched which will be slated.

Pic 2

2014-12-03 15.50.13.jpg

The rafters in the centre are from the new roof, they have been bolted (6 or 8mm bolts can't remember exactly now) to the the sides of the ceiling joists. The ceiling joists rest on a doubled up 4x2 on a couple of noggins which are on another single 4x2. Under this is a length of 2x1 on it's side. We then have the 6x2s that carry the flat roof. All of the above is then supported on the bit of stud wall shown.

I suggested to the main contractor on site that this was not the best bit of construction I'd ever seen and was basically told to f-off.

Anyone got any thoughts before I take it any further?

Cheers
    PK

2. I take it there is no building control can't believe no steel from block work, what is under the stud wall ? Are they going to ply stud wall as well.what is the boxing on roof in the first picture.

3. joinerjohn1

joinerjohn1 Screwfix Select

I'm assuming the 6" by 2"'s that carry the flat roof were already in situ ?? Looks quite a poor method for the new roof support. Should be a steel there. On the outside of the roof the plastic sheeting (under the laths) shouldn't flap about over the lath to the left of the boxing in bit (I too wonder what that's for) Is it purely the single bolts holding the rafters to the ceiling joists? I'd have thought they should also be screwed or at least have another bolt (or more) in.