Need Advice: Landlord Trying to Deduct Deposit for Unnecessary Electrician Test.

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Wingo123, Apr 25, 2024.

Tags:
  1. Wingo123

Wingo123 New Member

Hi everyone,

I recently moved out of my rented property, and as expected, my landlord is attempting to withhold a significant portion of my deposit. One of the charges she's insisting on is £300 for an electrician to conduct an EICR test.

Here's the situation: I'm a qualified electrician, and during my tenancy, I simply swapped the upstairs bedroom light with the living room light. I didn't tamper with any wiring; I only changed an accessory. My understanding is that no certificate is required for this kind of minor change, as there were no alterations to the wiring.

I've tried explaining this to my landlord, but she's adamant about the charge. Now, I've escalated the issue and filed a dispute with TDS (Tenancy Deposit Scheme). However, I'm hoping to get some additional confirmation and possibly a reference to the regulations that support my stance.

Can anyone confirm if I'm correct in my understanding? And perhaps provide a specific part of the regulations that backs up my argument?

Thank you in advance for any advice or insights you can offer!

2. Refuse to Bend

Refuse to Bend Active Member

Did you ask your landlord if you could change the lights?

3. bright_Spark

bright_Spark Screwfix Select

A general rule is that when you take over a new tenancy agreement is that the landlord should issue you with an EICR, when you leave the property and end your tenancy then the tenant should supply the landlord with a new EICR. This shows that nothing has been tampered or altered since you moved in and out. Not always the case but very common practice.

4. Comlec

Comlec Screwfix Select

A full EICR is not required. If the landlord has concerns then all that is required is an EICR with limited scope. A scope that only covers the two lighting circuits.