New light, existing switch

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by HNT, Aug 16, 2015.

1. HNT

HNT New Member

Total electrical novice here.

So I removed an outside light, and the wiring for it some time ago, due to making external alterations.

I left the switch (in the garage) in place, with the wires coming into it untouched, and left the switch in the off position. Intention was to come back later and install a new light.

Have bought a new PIR light, which wants a red a black and an earth.. nice and simple.
    So I figured just run some three core cable to the light from the switch.

I took the front off the switch, and inside it is fed by three core cable.. single red and two black.
    The red is connected to the top of the switch, and the two blacks terminate in a block.

Not sure what to do next. How do I connect up my new cable to this switch which will run to the light?
    Is there no earth here?

[​IMG]

2. Bazza-spark

Bazza-spark Screwfix Select

Have a look at the black that is in the middle of the 3 conductors. Is it actually a piece of black sleeving that stops where the conductor enters the grey outer and then bare copper from there?

3. peter palmer

peter palmer Screwfix Select

Looks like the permanent live and neutral coming in to the switch, I would imagine it still is an earth, just sleeved black instead of G/Y, can't imagine what else it could be used for. You need to look at the other end of that cable and see what's connected to what. That metal back box definitely needs a proper earth, also the terminal screw has fell out of the switch.

From the photo it does look like yet another house that has, lets be kind and say "iffy" electrics.

4. spinlondon

spinlondon Screwfix Select

Looks to me like one of the blacks is probably the SL, and the other is the CPC which has been sleeved?
    I take it you have run a new feed to the light fitting?
    Any chance of a photo of the other end of the cable to the switch?

5. Coloumb