Plastering tips

Discussion in 'Other Trades Talk' started by Charlie21, May 20, 2005.

1. Charlie21

Charlie21 New Member

I'm new to plastering and have done a couple of rooms following a course. I've got 5 questions here:-

1 - Amount of plaster used in 1 day (approx 7-8 hours)

I used up 2 bags of plaster yesterday 1 at time and had a job to trowel them in the time before it went off (I was mixing and cleaning up myself). What do you guys think is the average for a plasterer to use in one day if you are working alone?

2 - Order

If you are doing a room including the ceiling, what order would you do it in? Ceiling first? Ceiling and 1-2 walls first?

3 - Troweling process

I learnt:-

1st coat
    flatten
    2nd coat to fill holes (shouldn't need flattening)
    wet trowel (when near touch dry)
    Dry trowel

I've spoken to another plasterer who does only 1 coat and another that said he does many trowels, 2 wet, 2 dry etc. I'd be interested in what you guys think.

4 - Sponge

Do many people use a sponge float? I take it that it's used for the wet trowel part?

5 - Time to plaster 1 bag.

It took me 2 hours 40 mins to mix, apply, work and finish 1 bag's worth of plaster. How long do others take?

Sorry there's so many points. It's cos I'm new to this and still learning. Feel free to tell me to get stuffed...

I've read many of the points in this forum and learnt several things so thanks for that.

Charlie in Norwich.

2. wgr

wgr New Member

i normally use about 4-5 bags a day, always best to do ceilings first.

plastering, everyone is different, first coat is a key get it on just make sure no mountains in it.

me i get second on leave it 5 before even try to flatten it, let it key then just trowel it in, some flick water i dont i just trowel it with a wet trowel til its nearly set and then a dry trowel