RCD test

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by fanzone vinny, Nov 30, 2016.

1. fanzone vinny

fanzone vinny New Member

Hi All,
    I'm a new electrician so go easy, anyway after installing a fan to bathroom I then proceeded to carry out my basic tests for mwc. earth fault loop test fine, proceeded to test Rcd at end of circuit so as to be sure the circuit is protected as its in a special location, Connected leads and peformed 1x and got greater than 2000 ms, then tested on 5x and got greater than 40 ms, the test button works fine and it trips out at the socket outlet, p.s all switches were open.
    What am I doing wrong?
    Thanks

2. JP.

JP. Screwfix Select

Would have thought that the fan switch should have been closed when performing test Fanzone?

3. fanzone vinny

fanzone vinny New Member

how come , its a 3 pole isolator

4. fanzone vinny

fanzone vinny New Member

Sorry Jp, It was

5. longboat

longboat Screwfix Select

200ms on x1, I think?

fanzone vinny likes this.
  6. Risteard

Risteard Screwfix Select

Leaving aside your question for a second an RCD is not supposed to be tested at the end of the circuit. It is the device you are testing and not the circuit. Ideally test at the terminals of the device with final circuit conductors disconnected.

7. fanzone vinny

fanzone vinny New Member

Is that because the test can be problematic at the circuit end?
    Or for practicality

8. JP.

JP. Screwfix Select

I plug my rcd tester into sockets and stuff sometimes Mr R..and sometimes use SL16 lead with it.

tore81 likes this.
  9. Bazza

Bazza Screwfix Select

As Risteard says, it is only the device that youa re testing.
    If you leave wires connected to the RCD, then there may be earth leakage on these attached conductors and this will skew/scrog/invalidate any tests that you are doing.

Pete Jones and fanzone vinny like this.
  10. JP.

JP. Screwfix Select