Re-wire questions

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Griff, Oct 12, 2013.

1. Griff

Griff New Member

Looking for advice on a house rewire I am doing
    I am an electrician but have not been involved in installs for over 20 years (now in factory maintenance)
    • Installing a single oven which requires a 13A supply so am planning to simply use the kitchen ringmain via a plug as is standard on single ovens these days (we've had 2 like this) - The socket that will be used to power the oven will be hidden behind the cupbard next to the oven (not behind) so am planning to use a fused spur at worktop level to power this socket for ease of isolation in case of a fault. Is this ok?
    • Installing an electrical hob which requires a 32A supply so am planning a seperate 32A supply from the consumer unit via a 32A RCD or RCBO? (see last question) to a 32A DP switch to a cooker outlet point and using 6mm TW&E. The hob will then wire into the cooker outlet point.- Is this ok
    • For the earth bonding it appears that there are different trains of thought. If RCBO's are used then suggestions seem to be local bonding (baths, sinks, pipes etc) is not required. Is this so? If not what is the current requirement for earth bonding wrt cable sizes. Seems to be a question of 6mm or 10mm.
    Incedentally once complete a certified part P electrician will be employed to test and provide certificate but I want to get it right first time without the need to rip up floor boards again.
    Thanks

2. unphased

unphased Screwfix Select

Hi Griff