Reinforcing a retaining wall

Discussion in 'Landscaping and Outdoors' started by Ben Jackson, Apr 2, 2017.

1. Ben Jackson

Ben Jackson New Member

Hi

I have a retaining wall in my garden that is quite old and has a few bricks missing (i think where water and soil pressure have worn them away as there are no weep holes).

I'm a novice diy'er and can't afford to replace the whole wall, so was thinking of wire meshing the whole wall on my side (my side is 2-3 ft lower than my neighbours side which has 3 ft soil) and then rendering over it ensuring there are holes for water draining through.

I don't have access to the other side (the side with soil) as my neighbour has veg growing constantly).

Does this sound like a reasonable approach?
    If so what wire mesh would be best to use?

What other gotchas do i need to consider?

I'm thinking i might have to dig down on my side which is 3ft lower than the other side to put a damp proof membraine a ft lower than my soil level so that the render doesn't get damp and bubble- any thoughts from those more experienced?

Will the fact that my neighbours side will not be quite meshed or rendered cause the wire bracing or rendering issues?

Many thanks in advance.
    Ben

2. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

Won't work!

Got a some photo's.:)

Who responsible for wall you or your neighbour, what's in your deeds.

3. Ben Jackson

Ben Jackson New Member

Hi Kiab

A few pics a available using the link below. The larger wall in the pic attached to our house and will be getting sorted next year when i get the back of the house re renderd so it's just the smaller wall i want to make sure it's safe and looking better.

https://goo.gl/photos/yPg7ZbHML4CxVF8j7

Thanks

4. Joe95

Joe95 Screwfix Select

Would you not consider rebuilding the wall yourself?

It's a good way to save some money, and getting the hang of isn't too hard.

KIAB likes this.
  5. KIAB

KIAB Super Member