Remove chimney built into cavity

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by apritcha, Feb 26, 2017.

1. apritcha

apritcha Member

Hi guys,

I'm new at this so please tell me if I'm not following protocol.

I am about to start on a self build project the start of which is to remove an existing outhouse type extension to the rear of the property. As part of this I want to remove an old chimney. This wouldn't normally prompt me to ask a question as the process is common sense and well documented elsewhere, however, my chimney appears to be incorporated between the two cavities of the wall so I will need to fill in the outer cavity as I go and I haven't been able to find any other discussions of removing this type of chimney.

My question is should I approach this from the top or bottom? Obviously I'll take the stack down from the top as the first step but once that is gone, from a removal point of view it would be much more sense removing brickwork from the top but that makes re-bricking the outer wall challenging at the very least. From a bricklaying point of view obviously working from the bottom up makes more sense but then I have the issue of supporting the remaining stack as I go. The chimney is square and two bricks wide/deep.

Does anyone have any advice on the best way to approach this?

I realize that this will effectively leave a small cavity width chimney after the job is done which will need venting top and bottom. I'm actually thinking I may put some conduit in there as I go to make a riser for getting cables into the loft.

Thanks in advance,

Alan.

2. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

I think you should you remove stack down to roof line, then you might get a clearer picture of it's construction from there downwards.
    Proceed with caution,I've been caught out more than once with demolishing old chimneys, always expect the unexpected.