Restricted operations permit - Wessex water

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by Triggaa, May 30, 2016.

1. Triggaa

Triggaa New Member

Hello all,
    I'm a newbie attempting to do my own extension with help from a semi retired brickie and father in law who is a building suyveyor.
    I'm adding a new drain to my sewer and have had to apply to Wessex water to do this. According to,the notes I got from them;

https://www.wessexwater.co.uk/Devel...guidance-notes-and-suitable-contractors-list/
    And
    https://www.wessexwater.co.uk/Devel...ted-operations-permit-card---confined-spaces/

the person carrying out these works has to have a Restricted operations permit card and prove that they are able to work in confined spaces.
    The sewer is 900mm deep.
    My builder brickie hasn't got any experience of doing this and I don't won't to find another contractor (for cost reasons and difficulty in finding anyone to give me a quote let alone actually come and do some work).
    Has anyone else had an experience with this or know how to get around it.
    Hope you can help...

2. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

What a load of BS, Wessex Waters comes out with, I thought the Restricted operations permit only applied to working in their manholes, not laying drains.
    How are you connecting via a actual manhole or as a saddle/junction to an exsisting pipe, I would have thought you could run up to their sewer & they make the last connecting, NOT cheap.

Last edited: May 31, 2016
  3. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

If you have manhole in your garden, why involve WW? ,usually a simple job to connect into it.
    Only time I involve WW would be, if I had to connect to their sewer in the main road.

4. Triggaa

Triggaa New Member

Building regs insist on contact/involvement with the water company (and say they wish to be updated with any correspondence).

I have to construct the new man hole in the area I intend to connect my new drain to the sewer.