Retaining wall, Steel RSJ (red oxide painted) lifetime in ground?

Discussion in 'Engineers' Talk' started by Tangata, Apr 3, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Tangata

Tangata New Member

Hello,

I'm a newbie here. My builder has just built a retaining wall with oak railway sleepers and three 3m long 150mm x 150mm H profile RSJs hammered 1.7m into the ground next to a stream in my garden.

The RSJs arrived painted in red oxide but he didn't paint them further.

When I asked he said they'd last 50+ years in the ground. Before he orders any more RSJs for the rest of the wall I'm just wondering if his 50+ years is likely to be accurate?

many thanks for any advice.

Attached Files:

2. WillyEckerslike

WillyEckerslike Screwfix Select

It is wonderfully vague and a statement like that should not be classed as 'accurate' - if they lasted 49 years you'd be relatively relaxed. I would have thought he's right in fairness and in any case, unless your builder is only 20, he'll have retired by the time they fail after 45 years!

3. sospan

sospan Screwfix Select

Any metal in the ground or water will last a lot longer than if it was above ground in the air.

The protective coating applied in the steel storage yard is designed to protect the steels in building and should last a 100 years.

However, the weakest point is the part above ground. This is the point that could do with an extra coating of paint as it is a location where it is going to be fiddly to paint later on.

What is the purpose of the wall is it flood defence or just a retaining wall ?

4. CGN

CGN Screwfix Select

Usually paint with black jack or similar for extra protection.

KIAB likes this.
  5. Tangata

Tangata New Member

Thanks everyone. I guess I just wanted to be reassured that they weren't going to rust away within a stupidly short time. 20+ years would be fine.

Just retaining wall sospan,

I get the rest galvanised and paint the above ground bit of the existing three :)

6. sospan

sospan Screwfix Select