Safety/Dust Mask Design HELP

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by Lui Zatrak, Feb 18, 2015.

1. Lui Zatrak

Lui Zatrak New Member

Hello everyone,

My name is Lui Zatrak and I am a 3rd year student at Teesside University studying product design. I am currently working on my final project which is going to be a safety/dust mask.

I was wondering if I could get any information on what kind of problems you come across, what your safety procedures are and where and when you would use a dust mask. Any relevant information is hugely appreciated.

I am currently thinking about tackling the problem of communication within a workplace. One of my ideas is having a transparent front piece on the mask so the people you talk to can see your lips and therefore make out what you are saying more easily. Another idea is when you are working within a team, on a construction site for example, there would be a bluetooth earpiece and microphone built into the mask, to enable clear and effective communication around the whole site.

I am wondering whether these ideas would be beneficial in any way.

Any feedback would be hugely appreciated.

Thank You

2. Welshdragon1

Welshdragon1 Active Member

Depending on the job most of the time, trades people would most likely be wearing ear defenders / plugs .

For the clear mouth piece idea, I feel that you would have to make the mask with disposable filters on the sides.

In the industry there are many types of dust Asbestos being a deadly lethal one check out H&SE website http://www.hse.gov.uk/search/search-results.htm?q=asbestos#gsc.tab=0&gsc.q=asbestos&gsc.page=1 then search for cement / plaster lead paint for starters

I will leave others to mention other kinds of dust they face on the job

3. teabreak

teabreak Screwfix Select

One problem for the likes of me is that face masks do not cope well with beards, if you can solve that problem it would be a real improvement!;)

Welshdragon1 likes this.
  4. Welshdragon1