Speedfit vs Copper - flow

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Paul GPvR, Jul 15, 2008.

1. Paul GPvR

Paul GPvR New Member

Hi,

I've never used plastic pipes for plumbing before, but i'm just about to redo the whole bathroom so i bought some 15mm speedfit pipes and connectors.

After trying them to test the connections i noticed after inserting the pipe inserts into the plastic pipe the actual pipe diameter is now nearly half that of a copper pipe.

Surely this will affect the flow rate to the shower, bath and taps?

I'm tempted to use normal 15mm to ensure a decent flow rate.

What do you think? Will i see a difference?

Thanks a lot.

2. ripitout

ripitout New Member

Hi,

I've never used plastic pipes for plumbing before,
    but i'm just about to redo the whole bathroom so i
    bought some 15mm speedfit pipes and connectors.

After trying them to test the connections i noticed
    after inserting the pipe inserts into the plastic
    pipe the actual pipe diameter is now nearly half that
    of a copper pipe.

Surely this will affect the flow rate to the shower,
    bath and taps?

I'm tempted to use normal 15mm to ensure a decent
    flow rate.

i would look more at the new taps you are going to fit they may be alot more restrictive than the old ones

3. doing a bit

doing a bit New Member

do it in copper anyway as its abetter job with end feed fittings, lot neater and guarantee no leaks or blown off fittings !

4. Captain Leaky

Captain Leaky New Member

Speedfit is fine, the flow rates are good in plastic, better than copper size for size. If you are worried about flow look closely at the taps and valves you will be using.

5. ripitout

ripitout New Member

do it in copper anyway as its abetter job with end
    feed fittings, lot neater and guarantee no leaks or
    blown off fittings !

blown off !!!! you must have been using them on chrome tube ***.

6. doing a bit

doing a bit New Member