testing and inspection

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by AlexGoode, Mar 23, 2014.

1. AlexGoode

AlexGoode Member

Hi, I am new to the Screwfix forum and for my first post, i am an electrical Apprentice and am currently learning about inspection and inspection. i was wondering if there was someone out there who could help by guiding me through the stages for testing or tell me the name of a good website to use as there are some parts of the testing process which i seem to struggle with. thanks very much

2. tom.plum

tom.plum Screwfix Select

Hi Alex, i'm not a leccie but here's a good tip on testing

3. seneca

seneca Screwfix Select

Best to do the relevant C & G course, it was 2391 but it's a different number now.

4. Bazza-spark

Bazza-spark Screwfix Select

FatHands likes this.
  5. unphased

unphased Screwfix Select

C&G 2391 was never meant to teach electricians how to test. It required a thorough knowledge of BS7671 and practical hands-on experience of installing and testing to enable practising electricians to formalise their knowledge. It was really intended as a recognition that you could do it. Incidentally, when I entered the trade in 2003 I often heard electricians using the excuse; "I can't test I haven't got 2391." It was often used and I thought back then what a load of baloney.

My advice to you is do testing, as often as you can, practice on your own home if necessary and read GN3. Don't even attempt any C&G course until you have familiarised yourself doing tests. And don't listen to people who use the excuses. Just do it. That's how I learned and I passed my C&G2391 without a problem.

FatHands likes this.
  6. AlexGoode

AlexGoode Member