Use connections in shaver socket for mirror with light in

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by ah_001, Aug 12, 2012.

1. ah_001

ah_001 New Member

Hi, I am a newbie and am not on here to try and claim anything other than that.

I am a DIY 'er' and know when to stop and call a professional in whatever it may be.

On this occasion I am simply trying to see of I can get rid of a shaver socket that has been in the bathroom for longer than I care to remember and never been used. I want to go into the loft and pull the cable through so that i can drop in down in the stud on the other side of the bathroom to feed a mirror with lights in it.

Is this ok? Having spent an hour getting covered in newly laid fibreglass in the loft I seem to have the current feed for the shaver socket coming from the light and therefore would assume it ok as it appears to be already on the lighting circuit however assumption is the mother of all *$ck up's! and so I turn to your superior knowledge.

In short, can I unscrew all of the wires in the back of the shaver socket, pull them up into the loft and back down on the other side wall to feed a mirror with a light in it?

Many thanks in advance and I look forward to your repsonses.

Regards.

2. seneca

seneca Screwfix Select

Short answer, yes!

3. ah_001

ah_001 New Member

Awesome answer and much apprecited, thank you.

One last thing I thought on that subject......there is a sensor for the lights in the mirror, apparantly I just waft my hand under the mirror like Paul Daniels and they come on.

A friend who has a similar product says that his is temporamental to say the least so is there any way of by passing the sensor and just have it come on everytime I pull the pull cord for the main light?

Justa  a thought.....

Thanks again seneca.

4. seneca

seneca Screwfix Select