Water filter

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Coloumb, Apr 17, 2015.

1. Coloumb

Coloumb Screwfix Select

Hey Guys, if I fit a water filter like this

http://www.screwfix.com/p/high-capacity-water-filter-kit-10/16747

do I still have to have a separate tap for the unfiltered water. I want to fit it on the existing kitchen tap, which is the only one in the house connected to the rising main, except the outside tap, but I guess that wouldn't count. :p

If not could I rig up a bypass valve + pipework to go round it when not in use?

2. retiredsparks

retiredsparks Super Member

Op..I have been using a 5 stage Reverse Osmosis system for about 10 years.
    Lovely 99% pure water and great tasting.
    The filter change is dependent upon time and through flow.
    If you just want to get some filtration and nicer tasting water for drinking/tea coffee...I would advise a 2 stage unit.
    The first stage can be a 5 mic particulate filter(sand/bits etc)//then the activated carbon filter will last longer and better.
    I would not filter water for washing up etc.....fit a dedicated tap for the filtered drinking water.
    Hope this helps
    RS

3. Phil the Paver

Phil the Paver Screwfix Select

4. retiredsparks

retiredsparks Super Member

You would be surprised what the pre particulate filter looks like after 12 month...!!!!
    Rotten !
    Rs

5. ashtreefarm

ashtreefarm New Member

Your point about "I want to fit it on the existing kitchen tap, which is the only one in the house connected to the rising main",
    You may want to consider connecting the bathroom basin etc. to the rising main if you are worried about drinking water quality.

6. Coloumb

Coloumb Screwfix Select