Weatherproofing plywood

Discussion in 'Painters' Talk' started by KaKTy3, Jan 20, 2017.

1. KaKTy3

KaKTy3 New Member

Hi! A complete DIY newbie here, so please be gentle:

I am building a makeshift weightlifting platform for outside use, and the centrepiece of that is two 18mm thick 2440x1220 sheets of plywood screwed together for stability. I've purchased "Hardwood Throughout External (WBP) Plywood EN636-3S", but I now realise that it needs to be treated somehow to safeguard it from the elements.

Given I do not care about the looks, but purely want to avoid it absorbing moisture, rotting or deforming in any other way, what would be the easiest solution to treat it, please?

Ideally, I would want something I can pick up from my local B&Q, as there is one pretty much next door. I would also very much prefer something that does not require 24h drying, as I want it all done tomorrow (the urgency is strong with this one).

Thanks very much in advance and sorry to trouble you with something so trivial ;)

2. chippie244

chippie244 Super Member

Should have bought it last week then.

3. Astramax

Astramax Super Member

24 hour drying isn't going to happen especially outside at this time of year, Wickes sell a clear wood preservative which I have used for prevention of insect attack, wet rot, dry rot etc cost circa £14 for 2.5ltr. Maybe something like Thompsons Water Seal would suit but would need time to dry.

4. chippie244

chippie244 Super Member

You really need to seal the end grain to stop delamination as well as a preservative.

tore81 likes this.
  5. wiggy

wiggy Screwfix Select

And you will need some anti slip on it if you plan on standing in it.

6. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

7. Astramax

Astramax Super Member

How about Astro Turf! Could look good as well.

wiggy likes this.
  8. KaKTy3

KaKTy3 New Member

'Tis a valid point!

Thanks, I'll look into these.

What about something like Ronseal line of wood stains, either for decking or external doors? No bueno?