what size swa to use

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by jonsey, Aug 23, 2016.

1. jonsey

jonsey New Member

Hi i have got to run a sub main to an out house/bungalow,I am a qualified electrician 17th edition app3, 35 years in the trade etc etc.on and on lol.
    I have done some cable calculations for this swa. And its coming out at 35mm. it is a three core i will be using single phase.It is how ever 140m run at least.buried in ground most off the way.
    There will be a 9kw shower,washing machine,tumble dryer,Power,lighting and may be a electric cooker,etc.
    Can any one comment on this.or if anyone is good at that old cabel calc we learnt at collage.
    many thanks Jonsey

2. Coloumb

Coloumb Screwfix Select

That's gonna be well over a grand's worth of cable, wouldn't it be easier to find out how much the rec would charge to put in a new supply?

3. jonsey

jonsey New Member

Hi, yea £1095 to be precise haha. I know what you mean.It is out in the sticks as it is on a TT system,I think it might cost a bit more,As they will have to go to the pole and drop down then run about 500m across farm land.
    Thanks for replying Coloumb.

4. 14th edition

14th edition Well-Known Member

I had a new supply put on for a LL, 4 metre run, we dug the trench. £1300. But wow 140 metres is a long run...Looks like 35mm is about right but 2 core should be ok.

5. Pollowick

Pollowick Screwfix Select

6. jonsey

jonsey New Member

Thanks for getting back. Yea diversity , I hate maths ,just go with gut feeling after all this time, but 35mm did shock me a bit. Volt drop no more than 5% ,I used at least two main suppliers doncaster ,compton, both came back with 35mm. I was going to go with three core and use one as earth.
    The earth loop resistance is quite high around here. so could of used two core and put a earth spike in.
    cheers people.

7. leesparkykent

leesparkykent Well-Known Member