Wood turning lathe tripping out

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by ezza121, Sep 21, 2016.

1. ezza121

ezza121 New Member

Can anyone help me.
    I am not an Electrician so bare with me.
    I have recently moved to a Park Home site where each Park Home has a Circuit breaker installed before the wiring in the house.
    Before I moved I used an electronic variable speed wood turning lathe.
    I never had a problem with it but now when I turn the speed up it trips the circuit breaker outside.
    The circuit breaker in the consumer unit never trips when I do this.
    I have tried it in the cooker socket and it trips, I have tried in every socket in the house and it trips.
    I can use anything else such as circular saws, band saws, electric drills etc. but the only thing which trips the site owners circuit breaker is my lathe.
    To test the lathe I have taken it to three different houses off site and have no problems, its just here.
    Explained it to site owner but have been told it must be the lathe.
    the Lathe is
    Motor (carbon brush) 550w, 240v DC

Has anyone got an explanation.

2. Pollowick

Pollowick Screwfix Select

Circuit Breaker - exactly what type is it? Either get a picture of it and post it or copy the exact data printed on the front.

And maybe a picture of your consumer unit too.

3. Looks like it is the rcd that is tripping.

4. JP.

JP. Screwfix Select

Sounds more like rcd - when it trips is all power negated Ezza?

5. ezza121

ezza121 New Member

This is the box outside my Park Home.
    125 refers to me. 20160921_154730.jpg 20160921_154737.jpg

6. ezza121

ezza121 New Member

This is my Consumer Unit.

Oh and by the way the lathe is only 6 months old. 20160921_154823.jpg

7. ezza121

ezza121 New Member

I have disconnected everything in the park home before using the lathe to ensure its nothing else.

Not sure what negated means.

8. JP.

JP. Screwfix Select